Fallout 4 issues

Homepage Forums Game Hints and Settings Fallout 4 issues

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Insaneozzy
    Participant

Hi all, I’m new to VorpX, but I’m not new to modding games or altering ini’s. But for the life of me I can’t seem to get FO4 to run in vorpX at a decent res, when I check the prefs file it’s always running at 1680×2242 regardless of what I dial into the games settings, even if I manually change the prefs file res settings they change. Ive been at it for 3 days now and can’t seem to resolve it.
    Another thing Ive noticed is scopes don’t zoom, is this a glitch or a result of a FOV issue in relation to the resolution problem?

I’m running Rift on a gtx-1080ti, i7-6700k@4.4ghz, 16gb ram on a gigabyte Z170x G6 mobo so it’s not like I haven’t got the grunt to push the game along in vorpX.
    I do have a 16.9 widescreen monitor, but don’t believe it has anything to do with the resolution issue I’m experiencing with FO4.

Any advice would be welcome as Ive become very frustrated with not being able to resolve the problem to say the least.

Cheers

Ralf
    Keymaster

I would highly advise against setting the resolution manually when vorpX can do it. vorpX chooses a 4:3 res for the game on purpose. It always selects best possible aspect ratio for a game that has auto resolution support. Widescreen resolutions are a waste of processing power and should be avoided whenever possible for vorpX.

You probably should select a lower resolution quality in the vorpX menu though. 1680p is borderline even for a 1080ti in Fallout4, 1280p or 1140p are the better choices.

If you still want to disable the vorpX auto resolution for some reason, you can do that either per game in the vorpX menu (Direct VR page) or globally in the config app. There is no reason to do that though, on the contrary. vorpX is aware which resolutions work with a game and which do not and selects the best possible one.

Insaneozzy
    Participant