Black Mesa

Homepage Forums Game Hints and Settings Black Mesa

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    aoaaron
    Participant

How is Black Mesa working? Any reccomended settings?

I’m using an Index on an RTX 2080.

Was going to play this through on my Quest in pancake but can I play this on VorpX instead? Any issues?

Ralf
    Keymaster

Nothing unusual. Just make sure to check any hints that vorpX displays in top left corner of the game window and in the headset. Also – as always – choose a resolution (has to be 4:3 in case of Black Mesa, vorpX warns you if it isn’t) as high as performance allows for the best possible image quality.

Highly recommended to check the “Custom Resolutions” section in the help in this regard. it explains how to add resolution that your PC cannot display normally.

aoaaron
    Participant

Thanks. Damn so theres no preconfigured settings or profiles for it?

Is it DirectVR compatible?

Sorry I’m new to all of this still. Only played a bit of Bioshock Infinite with VorpX.

Ralf
    Keymaster

The profile has full DirectVR support and the game works great. The only thing you may want to change from the default settings is the game’s resolution.

aoaaron
    Participant

The profile has full DirectVR support and the game works great. The only thing you may want to change from the default settings is the game’s resolution.

Thank you Ralf. Which resolution would you suggest for an Index and an rTX 2080?

Ralf
    Keymaster

Generally As high as as you can go without sacrificig too much performance.

Typically 1440p roughly yields 1:1 pixel mapping on normal headsets, but if you can afford it performance wise, even higher resolutions are worth a shot. Running games with higher resolution does for vorpX what enabling supersampling does for native apps.

War_Radish
    Participant

*Please ignore. I found another post about my issue elsewhere*

slydog43
    Participant