Bought a Rift S… question about framerate

Homepage Forums Technical Support Bought a Rift S… question about framerate

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    dborosev
    Participant

So I have an O+, and recently bought a Rift S. I fired up RDR2, and it seems like the framerate is a bit choppier than it was with the O+.
    I also noticed that Alt-F and showing the FPS, the headset and game FPS seem locked together. I might be wrong, but I thought they were independent on my O+. Ie. the headset was high and the game was low. Now they both seem locked at the same game-rate level.
    I’m new to the Rift, is there some setting I need to tweak in Oculus or steam to fix this. Its not a massive difference, just noticable, so I’m wondering.

dborosev
    Participant

Also, its not so bad that I would consider it “something wrong” necesarily, its just somewhat noticable, so I’m wondering.

It may “just how it is.”

dellrifter22
    Participant

If you disabled Direct Mode Async then that is normal behavior. You might see headset always locked at 45 on rift with Async on though. This might be oculus’s own asw keeping it half, but I have never been fully sure.

Ironically, I’m new to wmr, and have noticed hmd rates jumping all over the place, causing some frame hitches in some games. I’m not sure if it’s steamVR’s reprojection, wmr, or recent vorpX, but my previous pimax didn’t seem to suffer as much. Still experimenting.

Ralf
    Keymaster

I think the latest game update, which I received yesterday, made things considerably worse. Just four days ago I had things running better in every aspect compared to the last released vorpX: better frame rate, yet still less prone to judder. With yesterdays update however the game suddenly runs far worse than before.

Happens with or without vorpX BTW. If that is some general issue with this new RDR2 update, and not just an odd problem over here, that’s probably what you are seeing too.

Apart from that: