Does VorpX induce a CPU bottleneck like 3D Vision does?

Homepage Forums Technical Support Does VorpX induce a CPU bottleneck like 3D Vision does?

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    vulcan78
    Participant

Long time 3D Vision user here, just got into VR (Valve Index), with 3D Vision there is a problem where the effect seems to take an entire core / thread onto itself and leaves only 3 remaining cores to handle the game, this is known as the “3 Core Bug”, my question is, does VorpX also suffer from this problem?

Also, is there any reason DX12 titles do not work with VorpX?

Someone over in 3D Vision (TimFX7) actually managed to get Shadow of the Tomb Raider working in 3D Vision in DX12. Theoretically 3D Vision can work with DX12, it’s just a tremendous amount of work and none of it is being done by Nvidia seeing as how they discontinued 3D Vision support as of driver 425.31.

https://www.mtbs3d.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?f=181&t=23410

I am completely new to VorpX (haven’t purchased yet, whether or not 3 core bug is present will heavily influence my purchasing decision) and somewhat understand that 3D is accomplished via SBS and not 3D Vision so I am assuming that there is no “3 Core bug” present?

Thanks for any help with this.

Ralf
    Keymaster

With Geometry 3D vorpX, just like 3D-Vision, has to submit twice as many draw calls to the GPU, one for each eye, which essentially doubles the workload for the GPU and also implies substantially more work on the CPU side. That’s not a bug though, neither in 3D-Vision nor in vorpX. I’m not sure why among members of the 3D-Vision community this frequently gets called “3 core bug”. One of those odd urban legends where you seriously wonder how they could ever have come into existence.