[Feature Request] Switching to Desktop (or SteamVR menu) from in game

Homepage Forums General vorpX Discussion [Feature Request] Switching to Desktop (or SteamVR menu) from in game

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Petoodle
    Participant

I’ve really been enjoying Vorpx so far. However, I have been struggling with one thing quite a bit:

If I for instance want to join a friend in game via Vorpx, I have to be able to see my Desktop. However, that’s not possible if Vorpx with my game is open. That makes it quite annoying to join a friend, (and in some cases, like Factorio apparently, impossible).

I don’t know if I’m overlooking this feature, since I’m quite new to VorpX, but I haven’t found it up until now.

Can you please make an key combination/menu button to switch to VorpX Desktop while the game is still running? Or maybe something (similar) like the SteamVR Desktop view from in game. Would love to be able to stay in VR for this.

Great software so far!

Ralf
    Keymaster

This feature would require a huge effort, and TBH I’m not really sure whether it would work at all. vorpX runs directly inside a game (or the desktop viewer), it doesn’t just capture the window. So it’s either the desktop or a game, not both at once.

To do what you want, vorpX would have to detect that you have switched to the desktop, detach from the game, attach to desktop viewer and vice versa when you switch back to the game. There are way too many things that can go wrong doing that, starting with reliably detecting that you have switched to the desktop.

You could pause the vorpX watcher after opening the desktop viewer and play games windowed in 2D using the desktop viewer, but of course that would pretty much defeat the purpose of using vorpX.

Demosthenes
    Participant