Left 4 Dead 2 DirectVR crashing

Homepage Forums Technical Support Left 4 Dead 2 DirectVR crashing

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    ectoBiologist15
    Participant

I just got this yesterday, and I’m attempting to get L4D2 working. VorpX automatically set the resolution to 4:3, but DirectVR fails with FoV and then crashes the game instantly after position succeeds.
    Portal 1 works great out of the box, which was surprising (I was expecting to have to do more to get it working)
    Any help would be appreciated.

ectoBiologist15
    Participant

almost six hours later, checked again, and i get three scenarios:
    1. rotation fails, game doesnt crash
    2. rotation passes, fov and position fail, game doesnt crash
    3. rotation passes, fov fails, position passes, game crashes
    complete noob to vorpx (i only bought it yesterday)

Ralf
    Keymaster

Unfortunately there always is certain chance of failure involved with scanning through a game’s memory. In the worst cae the scanner may not work correctly all on an individual system. Hence the according message that is displayed during each scanner run.

That said, the game is not really known to problematic in that regard. Similarly to hooking issue, a potential trouble maker could be some invasive AV program that monitors memory operations. If you use anything else than Windows Defender, please try to uninstall it.

ectoBiologist15
    Participant

thanks for the reply!
    i only use windows defender. this happens consistently and i have not yet managed to get it to succeed.
    if it matters, here’s the things i do:
    enable edgepeek for main menu
    go into a single player dead center campaign on the first part
    leave edgepeek
    attempt directvr
    wait for either a full success or a crash

ectoBiologist15
    Participant

update: it’s worked once, but i really have no idea what happened beforehand. ill bump if it starts happening again i guess.

ectoBiologist15