Looking for an explanation on skyrim performance

Homepage Forums General vorpX Discussion Looking for an explanation on skyrim performance

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    R3volve
    Participant

Hey guys,
    I have been using VorpX on the occulus CV1 for a few months now, and let me just say that I absolutely love it.
    But there is something that frustrates me to no end.

What I am looking for today, is someone to try and explain the intricacies of the way the game is rendered for the VorpX versus without it, that can account for the massive FPS difference.

Let me tell you what I witness.

I load into the game, strap on my occulus, and get 18-20 fps in the middle of riverwood.
    I quit the game, kill vorpx, launch the game again and standing in the same spot, I have 125 fps.

Now I understand that when you run in Geometry mode you are literally rendering the game twice, doubling the load. And on top of that there are software inefficiencies in the game that there is simply nothing anyone can do anything about. Such as the gpu waiting for info from the CPU which is waiting for another line of code to finish processing and blah blah blah. That kind of stuff explains why my GPU and none of my CPU cores get maxed out, or even use 50% of their capability.

If someone can explain it in a way to someone who only has a distant vague understanding of how this stuff works that would go a long way to stymie my frustration.
    Also, any advice on how to eek out some extra frames taking these limitations into account would be welcome as well.

I play on a GTX 1080, and a i7 4790k

Thanks

EDIT: I should mention that reducing / increasing the resolution has no impact on my FPS.

moarveer
    Participant

Maybe this helps to config Skyrim in vorpx https://www.vorpx.com/forums/topic/titan-pascal-vs-vorpx-skyrim/

R3volve
    Participant

Maybe this helps to config Skyrim in vorpx https://www.vorpx.com/forums/topic/titan-pascal-vs-vorpx-skyrim/