Oculus Rift CV1 Witcher 3 sensor tracking problems

Homepage Forums Technical Support Oculus Rift CV1 Witcher 3 sensor tracking problems

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    hadrian
    Participant

Hi,

I am using voprX with Oculus Rift CV1, an Asus GTX980, Intel I7 4770 with 16 GB ram, on a Asus Maximums Formula VI.

All the components are rather old (CPU/Ram/Mobo late 2013, GTX 2016, Oculus 2017). I have been playing games with vorpX without problems since 2017. I finished Dark souls III, Deus Ex Mankind Divided and since many months i am playing The Witcher 3. I play all in Cinema mode.

Since last year i have been having major problems when playing Witcher 3 in vorpX. The game starts fine but after some minutes Oculus is loosing tracking which results in:

1) image shifts quickly left to right. With one sensor disabled this is a little perceptible. With two sensors its like the image goes several cm left-right. So when this happens i have to quit the game and launch it again

The the problem repeats or:

2) image moves slowly to the right so every few minutes i have recenter to the screen

but then after several attempts

3) the action to recenter causes Oculus to become almost unresponsive, with fps dropping to <1fps per second. So i have to somehow quit the game.

The time and order of the above 3 is random. And if they do not happen at some point the computer crashes completly. All in all, i do not get to have one full hour of uninterrupted play.

I:

reinstalled Oculus (several time)
    updated drivers (i have Windows 10)
    moved the sensors and Oculus to different USB ports
    purchased the Inateck USB extension card recommeded by Oculus
    tried a powered USB 3 hub
    did a factory reset on vorpX settings and profile
    replaced the PSU (which was really old) with a Corsair Builder Series CX750M 750W
    cleaned the case of dust
    cleaned the cpu stock cooler of dust and replaced the thermal paste