shader authoring tool

Homepage Forums General vorpX Discussion shader authoring tool

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    kurry
    Participant

Is anyone able to make a youtube tutorial for this? I would love to be able to start tinkering, but don’t really have any idea on where to start.

steph12
    Participant

the one thing who allowed me to understand how it works, it to select “hide” instead of “colored” selected shader.

when you cycle through shaders when selecting “hide” it’s much easier to see what shader you have selected and what shader is offending.

you wont break things experimenting with the tool, you always can reset things.

i’m no pro at it, far from it but if i can do it, i’m pretty sure anyone can do it.

Ralf
    Keymaster

@ kurry: there is no video unfortunately, but it’s fairly straight forward to use. You basically flip through currently used vertex or pixel shaders with the ‘All Shaders’ option. When you found one that you want disable or handle otherwise you can add it with the ‘Add To Active’ button and then define what excacly should be done with it.

Some of the options will sound like gibberish without knowledge about 3D-programming, but typical stuff like defining HUD shaders or disabling offending effects doesn’t require any of that. Not complicated at all.

Also, like steph12 said, you can’t break anything, everything is reversible. If you have further questions, ask away.

kurry
    Participant

Wow, that was a lot easier than I expected!
    Thanks for the help :)

Cless_Aurion
    Participant

@Ralf Quick question here. I’ve been using the Authoring tool to get a proper profile for Tales of Arise up and running, but I’ve hit some weird blocks… One specifically that I don’t know it has an easy fix, or if its so complex and random it doesn’t have an easy solution. But I will ask just in case!